The Man Booker Marathon: Results

Now that my Manbooker marathon is over, it's time to collate the results. I'm slowly making my way through individual reviews of the books as contributions to The Complete Booker (http://completebooker.blogspot.com/) but in the meantime, here are the stats:

Starting on 1st August 2009 and finishing on 21st September 2009, I spent 52 days completing the marathon.

I've read 4633 pages, spent around £135 (including the bet I made on the winner) and awarded 44.5 of a possible 65 stars. I've also written 68 pages of notes in a lined A6 sized notebook. Most impressive, all thirteen of these authors are new to me, so it feels a bit like a watershed. I'm thrilled I completed it, and only a little disappointed that it wasn't in time for the shortlist.

Now for the league table:

5 stars
How to paint a dead man, Sarah Hall

4.5 stars
The Glass Room, Simon Mawer
Wolf Hall, Hilary Mantel
The Little Stranger, Sarah Waters

4 stars
Summertime, J M Coetzee

Brooklyn, Tolm Coibin

3 stars
The Wilderness, Samantha Harvey
Not Untrue and Not Unkind, Ed O'Loughlin
The Children's Book, A S Byatt
Heliopolis, James Scudamore
The Quickening Maze, Adam Foulds

2 stars
Love and Summer, William Trevor

1 star
Me, Cheeta, James Lever

Leave a Reply

