April Summary

April certainly was summery (sorry) with the main event being two weeks in France, part holiday, part long put off dealing-with-books-in-storage. I did my first ever fresh water swimming (in my father-in-law’s trunks no less) and planted my first ever apricot tree. Let the orchard commence!

KICKSTARTER
Delightfully, an opportunity to support a project conveniently fell in my lap again: this time helping Coney develop their new show ‘Early days (of a better nation)’. So I’m a project alderman, and I’ll be sure to post updates about that show progression here.

PUFFBALL
Another theatre to tick off my bingo sheet, this circus show at the Roundhouse was the suggestion of Marie McPartlin. And what a night it was. I can’t describe the show as similar to anything else, because it was unique. Striking, visually arresting, featuring extraordinary feats of strength and agility, and fire breathing like you’ve never seen it before. The story didn’t quite hang together, not helped by the slow transitions to ensure safety, but it’s easy to get into the spirit of the show as a manifest of love and tenderness. I thought it was a beautiful collection of vignettes.

NEW FAVOURITE BOOKER
I struck a few more Bookers off the read pile this month: The Siege of Krishnapur, which I found simply bizarre (jovial in tone but horrendous in action); and The Bone People, which was sublime. It has so much to commend it. The characters – an irascible, unconventional female protagonist, an endearing, fragile and mute boy, and a worn, kind but volatile man – make a scintillating triumvirate around which circumstances, places and spirits are tightly woven. It’s heart-breaking, life-affirming and utterly unforgetable. I didn’t think anything could knock Midnight’s Children from the top spot, but there you have it.

Leave a Reply

